# Election & Resource Committee 2022-2023 Annual Report

#### From:

Bob Cocking – Past President
Nedra Dreyer – Elementary Representative
David Ellen – Elementary Representative
Janet Strilchuk – Jr High Representative
Alicia Taylor – Sr High Representative
Martina Kasumovich – Professional System Support
Chantal Malette – Principal Representative
James Baker – Substiute Teacher Representative



# Committee Elections were held 2022 October 5 for:

We announced the acclamation of Martina Kasumovich as the Professional System Support Representative on Executive.

Communications Committee required one member at large for a two-year term ending 2024 June for the Media Team (Political Action Liaison). Kennedy Whitby, Twelve Mile Coulee was acclaimed and ratified by the Council of School Representatives.

Communications Committee required one member at large for a two-year term ending 2024 June for the Media Team (Substitute Teacher Representative). Zandra Cerpa Gomez, Forest Lawn High was acclaimed and ratified by the Council of School Representatives.

Hospitality Committee required one member at large for a one-year term ending 2023 June. Zandra Cerpa Gomez, Forest Lawn High was acclaimed and ratified by the Council of School Representatives.

Substitute Teachers' Group required two members for a two-year term ending 2024 June. We received two nominees and both Debbie Hawkins and Bola Mebude were acclaimed and ratified by the Council of School Representatives.

Professional Development Committee required two members from the elementary constituent for a one-year term ending 2023 June. We had received no nominees, so a call from the floor was made and one nominee, Jennifer Locke, Coventry Hills was acclaimed and ratified by the Council of School Representatives.

Campus Saint-Jean Area Field Experience Committee required one member at large (preferably French speaking) for a one-year term ending 2023 June. We received two nominees, Renaud Sylvain and Patrick Tomczyk. Only Patrick gave a speech.

Patrick Tomczyk, Tuscany was elected by the Council of School Representatives.

CBE Joint Worksite Health and Safety Committee required one member at large who is either a teacher or a learning leader for a two-year term ending 2024 June. Nominee Karl Bengtsson, Christine Meikle was elected by the Council of School Representatives.

### Committee Elections were held 2022 November 2 for:

Congratulations were given to James Baker for being acclaimed Chair of the Substitute Teachers' Group and is a member of the Executive under the new framework.

Communications Committee required one member at large for a two-year term ending 2024 June for the Media Team (Learner Diversity and Equity Committee Liaison).

Nominations came from Emmett Cook and Keshini Senanayake. The two nominees presented speeches and Keshini Senanayake from Nelson Mandela was elected by the Council of School Representatives.

Communications Committee required one member at large for a two-year term ending 2024 June for the Media Team (Substitute Teachers Representative) as Zandra Cerpa Gomez needed to step down. No nominations came forward from the floor of the Council of School Representatives.

Communications Committee required one member at large for a two-year term ending 2024 June for the Media Team (Teacher Welfare Committee Liaison. Brandie Ferrell, (school) put forth her name on the floor of our meeting and was ratified by the Council of School Representatives.

Professional Development Committee required one member from the elementary constituent group for a one-year term ending 2023 June. Sally Mbunya, King George was acclaimed and ratified by the Council of School Representatives.

Scholarship Committee required one member at large for a two-year term ending 2024 June. Nominations came from Emmett Cook and Keltie Robinson. The two nominees presented speeches and Emmett Cook, Discovering Choices was elected by the Council of School Representatives.

Teacher Welfare Committee required one member at large for a two-year term ending 2024 June. Nominations came from Avineet Dhillon, Jason Swanton and Aneesa Hakda. The nominees presented speeches and Avineet Dhillon, Douglas Harkness was elected by the Council of School Representatives.

Women in Leadership Committee required one member at large for a one-year term ending 2023 June. Two nominations came from Tamara McEachern and Jackie Vrooman. The nominees presented speeches and Tamara McEachern, Specialist - Inclusive Education was elected by the Council of School Representatives.

## Committee Elections were held December 7, 2022 for:

Communications Committee Media Team TWC vacancy for a two-year term ending 2024 June was posted on Local Lines and at the close for nominations we received just one nominee. Therefore, this nominee was acclaimed and ratified by the Council of School Representatives: My Nguyen, Literacy Specialist, School Improvement.

# Committee Elections were held February 1, 2023 for:

CCTCA Committee At our January 18, 2023 CSR meeting, co-president of the CCTCA Committee, Shae Frisby announced that they would have three member at large openings on their committee for a three-year term ending 2026 February. We promoted these positions on Local Lines and by the closing date for nominations of January 27, 2023 we received just three names. Therefore, these three individuals were acclaimed and ratified by the Council of School Representatives: Tanilla Doyle, Bishop Pinkham; Courtney Killam, Guy Weadick; and Melanie Lapier, Fairview.

# Committee Elections were held April 12, 2023 for:

Communications Committee required one member at large for a two-year ending 2024 June for the Media Team (Teacher Welfare Committee Liaison. A call from the floor for a vacancy on the Communications Committee Media Team for the TWC resulted in no nominees coming forward.

# Notice of Committee Elections May 3, 2023:

A memo was shared at the Council of School Representatives about the open positions on all Local 38 Committees as of 2023 July 1. Nominations are to be received by 2023 May 25. Any uncontested positions will be declared elected by acclamation. Vacant positions will require nominations from the floor at CSR. An election for contested positions will be held at CSR on 2023 June 7.

## Local 38 Executive Candidate Election

Due to the upcoming retirement of Nedra Dreyer, Elementary Representative on the Executive Committee, a vacancy was announced for a by-election via Local Lines for a one-year term ending 2024 June. By the closing date for nominations on May 11, 2023 we received one nomination. Congratulations to Avineet Dillon, Douglas Harkness for being acclaimed in this position for the next coming year. Congratulations to Nedra on her upcoming retirement and thank you for your years of service and dedication to Calgary Public Teachers. I would like to thank everyone on behalf of all our teacher colleagues for submitting their names for nomination and volunteering for vacant positions on Local 38 committees.

As a Local, we are very fortunate to have such a vibrant and involved membership.

As the Chair of Elections and Resources, I would also like to thank Arden Neustaedter, Local 38 Recording Secretary for her support in gathering nominations, communicating with nominees and bringing forward the information for the Council of School Representatives.

Respectfully Submitted, Bob Cocking, Chair Elections and Resource Committee

BC/AN/sc