Resolutions Committee 2022-2023 Annual Report

From:

Stephani Clements, President (Chair) Bob Cocking, Past Chair Caitlin MacDermott, Vice President Valsa Peter, Substitute Teacher Chris Keuben, David Thompson School Justin Seitz, Fairview Natasha Duffy, Area 4 Office Kevin Kempt, District Representative Dan Nelles, Executive Staff Officer



As Chair of the Resolutions Committee, I would like to thank the committee members who dedicate their time to volunteer on this important committee.

The Resolutions Committee met five times this year on: September 12, 2022, November 7, 2022, January 16, 2023 March 13, 2023 and the final meeting will be June 12, 2023.

The committee completed the annual policy review of Local policy statements required under the threeyear (short term) or ten-year (long term) policy review framework. Fourteen long-range policies (LRP) and thirteen current specific policies (CSP) were discussed. A number of policies concerning Local committees were forwarded to the committees for recommendations.

The Resolutions Committee Frame of Reference was reviewed with no revisions.

New policy and amendments to existing policy was developed at the request of individuals and other committees of the Local.

Proposed policy statements were sent forward to Executive and the Council of School Representatives (CSR) for deletion, amendment, or ratification.

As part of its mandate, the committee organized the Policy Handbook by making decisions with regard to the placement of policy.

The committee continues to manage policy and assist members, the Council of School Representatives, and the Executive in writing resolutions.

As Chair of the Resolutions Committee, I would also like to thank Arden Neustaedter, Local 38 Recording Secretary for her support in organizing this committee and the Policy Handbook. I would also like to thank Dan Nelles for his extensive knowledge of policy and procedure and ability to direct this committee in its work.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephani Clements President, Calgary Public Teachers Chair, Resolutions Committee

AN/sc